nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The best laid plans...

It's technically Easter now, midnight having come and gone. I'd intended to go to Wally World before work today but one look at the lot convinced me I'd be in there for hours, just trying to wrangle my way between grumpy people buying the same things I was. No WAY! Figured instead that I'd run up there quick after work, since they're open till 11p and chances were good there would be fewer people there then. Riiiight. That's what I get for trying to plan something. The lottery machine keeled over and died tonight on me, then the third shift guy was half an hour late and by the time I got my portion of the paperwork finished, it was too late to get to Wally World. I ran across the street to CVEss and managed to finish up the Easter goodness there. I don't like just stuffing the kids' baskets with candy (not good for their teeth, not good for my patience). In the past, I've always put other things like card games, soccer balls, etc. This year they're getting Bionicles and these sportsy thingies, like small-sized badminton sets, in addition to the Pez and marshmallow eggs and bubblegum tape, etc. We, however, aren't having our Easter until Monday morning. Relatives are taking up much of our day tomorrow and then I have to work tomorrow evening (joy).
We're definately going to DC this next week. I made reservations at a hotel in the Foggy Bottom area, near a Metro stop. We'll be there for 3 nights, 4 days. At this point the weather isn't looking too bad and I'm looking forward to it. I figure if we leave early on Thursday, we'll be able to stop for breakfast and still hit our hotel in between rush hours. It's not a long trip and shouldn't be too difficult. I plan on doing much of the typical touristy stuff and a few things not on the beaten path. I was rather disappointed that the DC Ducks tour wasn't running till mid-April (the boys would have really gotten a kick out of the amphibious vehicles) but can't be helped. We'll have a great time. On a completely unrelated note, we're hitting Medieval Times before coming home. The boys're going to love it. Heck, I'm going to love it. Cherry blossoms, here we come.
Pictures galore. I can't wait. I'm having just as much fun planning it all.
Happy Easter, all. I hope you find peace on this holiday and if not, then at least chocolate-induced euphoria.
N.

12:13 a.m. - 2005-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged