nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

R.I.P. Mitch Hedberg

Well, hello there! I'm bubbling over with things to put here, so much and not enough space, time or energy in the old fingers. Let's see what I can squeeze in...
We're back from DC and it was outstanding. Wonderful adventures we had! I kept a paper journal each day we were there and I'll be putting an entry in each day until I'm caught up on it all. That will start tomorrow as I still need to get life here in order.
Gracie was happy to see us when we picked her up and promptly peed all over the carpet in the house she'd been staying in. The kitties were beyond pissed at me for leaving them here alone and Freya wouldn't even come out from under the couch for the first hour we were home.
Can't Eat and Can't Poop called, literally, the second after we pulled in the drive. I could hear the phone ringing as I unlocked the front door.
The Pope died while we were away, and I found out once I got home and read all my favorite hotspots that Mitch Hedberg died too. He was brilliantly funny and if you haven't seen or heard anything from him, go look right now. He cracked me up endlessly and I think I even mentioned his comedy routines in an entry or two. I loved his theory on Ritz crackers.
I'm saddened by the Pope's passing only due to the fact that he tried to do some good in the world and we need all the help we can get. He, however, had lived a long and full life.
The good that Mitch Hedberg did, in creating laughter in peoples' lives and giving some of us a time out from the crap that happens, was too quickly extinguished.
***
During our trip away, we saw every manner of weather known to man, I think, and came home to cold, cold, COLD. My house is taking it's damned good time warming up. Time to crank that thermostat!
I was mistaken on the back-to-school date from Spring Break and the boys are actually still home tomorrow. That's truly a good thing in most ways as they need a good night's sleep in their own beds and Mom needs to play catchup with their laundry and homework.
SO. I'm off. Look for an update tomorrow, including Day One of our DC trip.
I'm really glad we went. Rejuvenated doesn't cover how I feel right now.
Happy Missed Days and Happy Sunday.
N.

8:36 p.m. - 2005-04-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged