nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The school day that wasn't

The boys second day of school was supposed to have been yesterday but due to a water main break, all our city schools were cancelled. Thus I spent the day going crazy with a bunch of rambunctious children.
My mother called to ask if I would go out and pick up my sister. She'd dropped her off at school and gone off to work, not realizing that there wasn't any school. My little sister had sat outside her locked school for nearly an hour before I got there. And when I got there, her poor face was tear-stained and so sad. I'd been able to get the school secretary on the phone and she went out to bring my sister inside to wait until I got there.
I was furious. My mother has decided to make it her new routine to drop off my 9 yr. old sister over an hour early at her school. Over an hour my sister has to sit there, because my mother won't find someone to put her on the bus or won't adjust her schedule to fit (she wants the half hour of overtime each morning in addition to the overtime she's getting after work and on weekends).
Ave has also been in and out quite a bit the last several days, mostly in an effort to ignore the situation with his mom. My heart hurts for them. He spent quite a bit of time with us yesterday and so we ended up out at one of the local parks, tossing rocks in the pond and playing a makeshift game of baseball. It sufficiently wore them all out and that's what counted.
I'm tired and grumpy tonight. Not sure exactly what's going on in my head but none of it's good tonight. I'm thinking a hot bath in the dark with headphones on will do me some good.
Happy Thursday.
N.

9:26 p.m. - 2005-08-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged