nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whopper-of-a-day

Well.
Today was incredibly productive, especially in light of my mood yesterday. It only got worse as the evening wore on, and I ended up crashing earlier than I think I have in a long time. That's not to say that it was a restful sleep but at least there were blocks at a time. The optometrist's office is nearly cleaned out, all charts boxed up today and sent off to the other doc who's going to be custodian of records now. I got the errands run that I needed done then ended up having to go pick up one of the boys from school as he missed the bus.
The situation with Ave's mom has gone from bad to worse. She's going to be away from Ave for a year and that makes me sick to my stomach, thinking about that boy without his mom for that length of time. The whole situation is a stupid attempt to make an example of what amounts to an accident and it just doesn't seem fair that the person most likely to pay is a ten year old boy. I've spent a good chunk of time today, collecting information and trying to get a grasp on all the things that need done to help her as much as possible. I'm officially in charge of shutting down her house, packing everything up and getting it settled into a storage unit by the end of the month. Other people are taking on jobs that are so much more important and I think this is the least I can do. There's so much more to this story that I don't feel comfortable putting in here but please, please, please, even without those facts, keep this family in your prayers. I promise that they are wonderful, good, healthy people who have gotten into one hell of a mess.
***
My mood has lifted some today, not counting the gravity that's hovering just near the surface. I sort of feel like a helium balloon that's held down with one of those whimsical, brightly colored weights, bobbing along in the tiny shifts of air or gusts of wind yet not completely free to soar. Maybe that's just the way life is, a series of things that just barely keeps us grounded.
***
Heard a song tonight, by Tracy Chapman, called The Promise.
Love. It.
Happy weekend, one and all. Be careful driving. Stop at stop signs, watch for deer and be safe.
N.

9:03 p.m. - 2005-08-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged