nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Olympics, Idol and ideas, anyone?

I've been switching back and forth between the Olympics and Idol tonight. Definitely developing some early favorites in Idol and some early dislikes, as well. It might actually stay interesting.
To me, the Olympics are missing something. I remember, even back when the whole Harding/Kerrigan saga was unfolding, one of my favorite parts of the Olympics was the medal ceremonies. Yes, the sporty performances were great but there's something about watching it really hit home to the winners. And sadly, that seems to be something the network isn't showing much of. Remember watching Oksana Baiul after her amazing win over Harding and Kerrigan? She was in tears and completely overwhelmed. And the look on Kerrigan's face...that snotty, holier-than-thou grimace. That's what's missing for me this year.
The triumphant smiles of pride in knowing you've gone out and done your best and now you get what you came for, what you worked so hard for.
***
My birthday this year coincides with the Raingutter Regatta the boys' Cub Scouts are having. Trev and Ry think this is incredibly entertaining. They keep threatening to fix up their boats like birthday presents.
Psht. I'm looking forward to having the distractions of smallish boys underfoot. Always a good way to spend a special day.
***
Strangely, I haven't heard from my mother lately. I spoke with her for a second on Valentine's Day as I called to wish my little sister a happy birthday (she turned 10---doesn't even seem possible!) Not sure how my brothers are doing. In the past while, she calls to let me know when things aren't going well with them so I don't know whether it's safe to assume that they're doing alright...At least I haven't read about them in the newspaper's police blotter lately. I'm thinking that's a good indication. I hope, anyway.
***
TheSlut who helped break my heart has moved. I drove past her house yesterday and it appears as if she's all packed up and moved out. The owners put the house up for sale just a couple weeks ago, primarily to get her out (from what my mother said). Apparently, there were some probs there. Go figure. Closing off this line of thinking now. Bitterness helps nothing.
***
I'm trying to come up with some affordable ideas on what to do with the boys over Spring Break. Needs to not cost both my arms and legs and needs to be family friendly. I'd like to get out of our town a bit, out and about into something else. Any suggestions?

Happy Tuesday.
N.

10:36 p.m. - 2006-02-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged