nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whole lotta nuttin' going on.

Today was Camper Orientation Day. Trevor was nervous, obvious by the expression on his face and his need to be as close to me as possible.
I have high hopes for this camp. I hope it pans out. I've heard alot of really good things about the camp, about it's counselors and about the lessons the kiddos learn while there. It's set up specifically for kids like Trev, kids who have quirks or even outright behavioral issues.
Orientation went well. We met all the counselors and directors. Trevor was able to see where he'll be staying, and got a bit of a feel for the layout.
I like the size of the "tribes" of kids---7 kiddos to 3 adults. I think that's a good number, especially in the face of some of the issues these kids face. All in all, from everything I've heard to everything I saw today, it's an amazing program, run by people who really care about children and are proactive in wanting to help them grow.
I'm excited to see how it all turns out.
***
We spent a couple of hours tonight at the ball field, tossing a ball around and smacking a few. The boys are like flip sides of a coin. Trevor can field really well but is petrified he's going to get hit by the ball still and tends to step out of the box frequently. Ryan is a hitter from hell but doesn't field very well. So we worked on a little of both, came home dirty and dusty and had sundaes. Good stuff.
***
My Gramps had a birthday last week. I took him out for a burger and a beer. My aunts got him another shelf for his plants and assembled it. That put him over the moon! He was all excited when I got there, had to show me all of his precious aloe plants tucked in new spots all over it. It was a sweet thing.
***
I haven't been online much in the last several days, primarily because the phone went nutty. I had to have the phone company in twice because of static on the line and service falling in and out and they finally figured out the problem (after I had to pay for alternative wire maintenance-$40 on next month's bill and $5 a month for the next 12 months PLUS had bought a new phone because I thought the prob might have been my cordless). It was a corroded phone jack, in my basement of all places. The bizarre part is that there are a grand total of 7 phone jacks in the basement! And it's not a finished one---it's constantly damp and with rain, it's swampy. Crazy stuff.
I called my aunt and told her the phone guy had cut a bunch of stuff, caught her up to date on the work done and let her know how much it cost me.
I was sort of peeved that she didn't offer to cover the $40. It's her lack of upkeep on this house that caused that phone jack to go bad (that basement is an atrocity) and I get to pay for it. Sucks, in my eyes.
***
Ah well. Just a brief catch up. More tomorrow.
Happy Saturday.
N.

10:04 p.m. - 2006-06-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged