nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh the joys of parenting

I watched the pilot episode for Men in Trees tonight and honestly, I sort of liked it. It's cute. Out of all the crap floating around on television anymore, it's fairly innocuous and entertaining. Makes ME want to move to Alaska! And lucky me, they're showing another episode now. A town full of men...what opportunities!
***
I'm exhausted. It's been a long day and I'm just plain tired. Tomorrow, I've promised the boys we'll go to this sawmill that's giving tours and showing everyone how they process wood. Then we'll take a hayride over to this ancient log cabin and have all sorts of homemade goodness---ice cream, hot chocolate, etc.
Bed tonight is going to feel good. And faced with all that, I think it's going to be necessary.
***
I got a phone call from Ry's teacher this week. Ready for this? He got tired of listening to his teacher talking on and on about a particular paper and was bored to boot, so when it came time to actually DO this paper, his answers for every single question were...ready? Examples follow.
1) What do you predict will happen in this story?
Answer: bla bla bla
2) Who was your favorite character and why?
Answer: blah blah bla
Get the picture? Every single question was answered that way.
Initially, I had to squelch a laugh. Not good to giggle when your son is being openly defiant. In fact, I really don't think the teacher would have appreciated me laughing at the smart-assedness that is my son, at all.
I had to ground him. Had to. Otherwise, he might have thought my stifled laughter meant he was allowed to be such a weinie to his teacher, might have been permission to throw away his daily opportunity at an education...
Can't say I didn't eventually give in to that laughter, in the privacy of the shower spray.
'Scuse my French but what a little shit! *sigh*
***
Night night, all.
Have a great weekend.
N.

8:56 p.m. - 2006-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged