nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Thanksgiving 2006

Seeing as how it's Thanksgiving, I thought I might do a stereotypical entry about things I'm thankful for.
The list doesn't change a whole lot from year to year but needs fine tuning every now and again.
This year, I've been reminded on several different occasions of things that have turned out to be blessings and thus are things to be grateful for.
I'm thankful that we finally got a diagnosis that fit with Trev this year. It's opened up so many doors and windows for him, and for me, in terms of being a better parent to him and knowing what we're facing.
I'm thankful that we're all very stubborn and refuse to just accept what Life dishes. It's the fighting to be better people that keeps us honest.
I'm thankful that I have my new van and that there are tow drivers who are patient with women who don't know how to get their own spare tire off a vehicle.
I'm thankful for the deer that come into my backyard and eat all the apples off the tree, thus clearing the mess that I would otherwise have to clean up.
I'm thankful for DSL.
I'm thankful for teachers with a sense of humor, who realize that my son trying to stand on his head in the hallways at school isn't the end all in discipline problems.
I'm thankful for Starbuck's Vanilla Cremes, designed for people like me who pollute coffee until it doesn't taste like coffee or who drink "coffee alternatives".

On a more serious note, I'm thankful for my eclectic mix of family and all the joy and drama they bring into my life.
I'm thankful for the perspective I'm learning to see the good in the bad.
I'm thankful for the lessons taught to me this year and the growth it's helping me achieve in my life.
I'm thankful for the time I had with my Grams before she died, thankful for the opportunity to be so close and involved at a time in our lives when most people disconnect a little. I'm thankful for her influence on the very basis of what I am and I'm beyond grateful that she loved me in spite of my flaws.
I'm thankful for the time still with my Gramps. As much as I lose patience sometimes, I know down deep that it's a gift.
I'm thankful for my boys and all the Life they bring into mine. Seeing how rapidly they're changing, I'm reminded daily that it's flying by and soon they'll be off and into their own adventures.
I'm thankful for basic things as well---the roof over our heads, the food in our bellies, the clothes on our backs. Having had times where we were struggling for some or all of those things, I can't take them for granted.
I'm thankful for the ability to "detach with love". I don't know if I'd keep my sanity otherwise.
I'm thankful for my little online community that I found here so many years ago, thankful for the friendships I've developed here, thankful for the people who've allowed me to become a part of their world or to live vicariously through them.
Happy Thanksgiving. Hug the people you love and remember your own blessings, hidden as they can be.
N.

p.s. I'm also thankful some man saw that Ralphie's house was up for sale on Ebay and decided to restore it to all it's Red Ryder glory. I love "A Christmas Story" and you can bet we'll be trundling up to take cheesy, campy pictures in the very near future.

9:11 a.m. - 2006-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged