nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snowysnowsnow

OH the snow.
It's crazy deep now, to the degree that my poor Reese-dog has to literally leap like a deer to make his way through it. Although, he's not complaining because he's having a blast in it. I am hard pressed to get him back in the house! Something quite funny about watching my dog snuffle through the snow like a pig searching for truffles.
It's been coming down steadily since yesterday at about 9am. The roads yesterday got sloppy and covered but were still able to be managed, enough so that I picked up Brandon's friend Dakota for an overnight last night to celebrate Bran's 14th birthday. Yes. 14 years old. So hard to see my son looking and acting so grown up and yet, so easy. He's a fine young man and I'm a lucky mom.
Although...I don't think I'm old enough to have a 14 yr old now (heh).

However, the result of that overnight and the snow is that his stay has been extended into most of the weekend. Because of all the snow, the roads are impassable now and so I'm not going to brave the blizzard-like conditions just to take him home. His mom is okay with him staying another night so that settled it. Bran certainly isn't complaining!
The boys have been a help with the shoveling. We've all taken turns trying to clear the steps and drive of the drifts and depths of snow. Ryan spent the better part of two hours out there, literally rolling around in the snow and burying himself in it. Crackhead! I would really love to take him to Snowtrails. I think he'd really enjoy getting up on skis. I know I'd love to see him!
I keep telling them that this is what winters were ALWAYS like when I was a kid but I don't know if they believe me. I'm going to have to dig out pics my MaternalWonder has, just to show them.
I'm waiting to see if anyone ends up with chickenpox. None of my sons has ever had it, never been exposed. UNTIL last weekend. My ex picked Bran up on Friday, knowing that his two younger children had chickenpox and that Bran hadn't ever had it and kept him all weekend regardless.
When I picked Brandon up on Sunday, he informed me that Bran had been exposed. I was not happy. NOT happy at all. We now wait to see if he had enough exposure to have brought it home with him or to have caught it himself. *sigh*
Jerkjerkjerk.
Trev and Ry were supposed to go on their very first campout with their Boy Scout troop this weekend but they cancelled due to road conditions. The Scoutmaster said had they been camping closer to home instead of an hour away, they might have had the campout anyway. He thinks it would have been a learning experience for the boys!
Yes. I suppose that's true but I don't think I'd have been too comfy sitting at home, worrying about my boys buried in a snow drift!
So we're all holed up in my little house, occasionally venturing out to enjoy some snow time and eating healthy things like chocolate birthday cake and nachos. Good stuff.
At least we have power and heat. Can't complain.
Happy Saturday.
N.

5:42 p.m. - 2008-03-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged