nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh so much to fit in such a tiny space

School has been out not even a week yet and the boys have begun bickering. I'm managing to ignore most of it and let them sort most of it out but I have to admit that it seems to have started way sooner than it ever has in the past!
Overall, it's not intolerable yet and I actually have several reprieves on the way so I think we may survive (heh).
Bran left for his dad's on June 6th (the last day of school) directly after getting off the bus. He was pretty bummed about having to go, as I sort of thought he might be. It's partially due to having to spend time with his stepmother and mostly due to not being home to see his gf. The boys and I brought him home for a few hours yesterday and I heard from his father that he's been umbilically attached to his cell phone ever since he got there. It's humorous, really. It's driving his stepbeast crazy. She instructed him to bring the cell home yesterday and leave it. THAT made me laugh.
His father and I had already agreed that he could have the cell with him, he just needed to give it a break around his stepmother, so it went back with him. Hopefully, she can maintain some maturity about the situation.
I miss him. There's a strange sort of melancholy that always sneaks up on me when he's (or any of the boys, really) are going to be gone from home for any length of time. I guess it's just a sign of how large a part of my world they are.
Down deep, I know it's important that he has this time with his dad. I know it's good for him to be with his other brother and little sister. I know it's good for him, too, to get away from home for awhile. I think he appreciates home more this way.
Doesn't seem to make it any easier, though.
His gf is going on the NYC trip too. He's very excited. I think it's adorable.
***
It's been so hot and humid already. Feels like we went from 60's to 90's in warp speed. I survived the last week of school, although it was nutty as a fruitcake. This year's PTO president decided that as of June 1st, she was completely done. Unfortunately, school wasn't over until June 6th. All the end of year hoopla fell into my lap, loose ends a-flying. I managed to get put on the books by myself, bought 500 popsicles for Field Day (which ended up getting rained out), gathered 12 tubs of vanilla ice cream, 32 assorted bottles of soda and 15 last minute volunteers (with 2 days notice) to make floats for Student Council Day, finalized arrangements for the 6th grade graduation reception and held an end of year Executive Commitee Meeting, all in the span of four days.
I have to say that it's nice knowing I don't have to worry about someone dropping anything on me at the last minute for awhile!!
Overall, it ended successfully and well so I can't really complain. I think that the other officers and I are all on the same page so that will help the next school year flow a little more smoothly.
***
Ryan and Trev had a Scout camping trip this last weekend. Ryan came home with his eye swollen completely shut, thanks to voracious bugs near Toledo. They took a trip to Cabela's in Michigan and had a blast there. Trevor took his birthday money with him and came home with a new fishing pole and a bunch of lures. Ryan picked up a pocketknife. Other than being covered with bites, they had a great time and came home happy campers. I have to say, though, that this is the second camping trip they've attended where a tornado siren ended up going off and they had to evacuate for a short period of time. In light of the recent tragedy in Iowa involving tornadoes and Scouts, it's a little unnerving.
They're set to attend Scout summer camp for a week in July so I'll be sans kiddos for a whole week. No idea what I'll do with myself!
Ryan actually has a week of plain old summer camp coming up in a couple of weeks. It'll be the first time ever for him, sort of a training run for Scout camp, I think. We'll see how it goes.
***
My computer hates me. Died. Literally. I was having this odd loss of reds for a bit, where everything had a strange blue tint. Then the screen began doing this odd thing, picture turning into lines across the monitor and then going to a blue screen of death. The whole computer would freeze up then. Monday of this week, I turned it on and it did nothing. The blue light on the hard drive came on, the monitor came on but there was no loading of anything.
It's not an old computer, only 2 years old, maybe? Ridiculous. And I have SO much on that hard drive. Pictures, music, documents for PTO. NOT good. I don't know what I'm going to do. I'm waiting on my stimulus check in hopes that I can retrieve some of it or at least, get it back up and running. If I lose everything on it, I'll be very upset but I really don't want to have to buy another computer after having spent $500 just two years ago on that one!
I'm hooked up my old hard drive to the new monitor and am able to at least check email, etc but it's soooooo slow and there are so many things I'm not able to do or access now. All of my favorites list is gone and I had a ton of blogs and addresses there that I visited nearly daily. My pictures and movies are gone, and the programs on this computer are so outdated that I can't access things like Youtube. One of the Scout leaders had uploaded some videos of the boys' trip onto the website and I couldn't view them. I was so frustrated.
I suppose I should just be grateful I have 'Net access, period.
*sigh*
Gramps has a biopsy scheduled next week. Several years ago he had a prostate exam and one of his tests came back with a count of 7. Normal was around 3-4 so they did a biopsy then. They had found some pre-cancerous cells but in the last few years, haven't had any major issues. He had an appt. earlier this week and that same test came back with a count of 27. I have some research I need to do about prostate cancer but I have heard that it is a slow moving disease, for the most part. I'm hoping that's true. Please keep him in your thoughts and prayers.
I think that about covers everything.
Hope everyone's doing well.
N.

7:07 p.m. - 2008-06-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged