nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bran turns 15

Dear Bran,
I can't believe you're turning 15 today. I know I say this often but it really DOES seem as if you were just a baby in my arms and now, all of a sudden, you're taller than me. This time with you is flying and it's bittersweet to me.
See, I remember teaching you to walk and talk and tie your shoes...and now you're off and running in your own directions, not really needing me to teach you much of anything anymore. Occasionally, you'll stop and ask for directions but it's not the same. It's truly been a wonder to watch you become as independent as you have, and to see you branching out more on your own. I know, before long, you'll be flying freely and while I have huge hopes and dreams for you, it stings a bit to know that as my oldest, you're the first to leave me behind.
I remember watching you take apart the toaster when you were 3. I remember your fascination with all things tractor. I remember your first day of kindergarten, your first trip to the eye doctor, your first school dance.
I'm the keeper of the past.
And you've such a future in front of you. You're so smart and have such a good heart. You care about people so fiercely. You make me laugh with your quirky sense of humor and dry wit.
I've been lucky: as a teen, you're fairly easy (knock on wood I didn't just jinx myself!). The backtalk doesn't happen often and for the most part, you get out of bed in the morning with little argument. I can see the floor in your room, your grades hover around a B+ average and I haven't had to remove the volume knob from your stereo.
You're a good kid and lucky actually doesn't even begin to describe how blessed I am with you.
Remember not to guard your heart too strongly because if the walls you put up are too thick, no one will be able to see the real you behind them.
I love you.
Happy Birthday.

9:44 a.m. - 2009-03-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged