nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drop in the bucket

Oh, it's been forever.
So many things I've not written down, details lost, events shelved and then left undusted.
Life here is flowing along as it's wont to do. The boys are growing up so quickly.
Bran is midway through his sophomore year, growing tall and broad. He'll be 16 in March, days before I turn 35 and we're currently in negotiation over his acquiring a driver's license. Privately, I can't believe that my little boy is old enough to be driving. I can't fathom that in just two years he'll be graduating. Those two years are a drop in the bucket, ya know?
Trev has transitioned very well this year. He, too, is growing tall and hitting the gangly stage. He's nearly the same height I am (5'7") and will be 14 come May. He's still my sunny boy, my crazy loon, my "walking to his own beat" drummer.
And Ry...is blowing 7th grade out of the water. He's brought home straight A's, enjoying the challenges that being in the "gifted" program have provided this year. He's running through 9th grade math and I've been told that if he continues in the honors classes the way he has been, next year he'll be bussed to the high school to take classes with the sophomores (he's currently taking expedited 9th grade Algebra). That both thrills and frightens me a little.
They're all so funny and fun and frustrating, all balled up inside their not-so-little bodies. I'm blown away by this experience of being their mom. It's slipping by.
Our furbabies remain near and dear to our hearts but have changed up the order a little. Late summer, we lost Casey the hamster and Chewey the guinea pig, nearly back to back. Poor Ry had a horrendous week and cried all the tears his tender heart could weep.
That same week, a flood of blonde puppies came pouring in the back corner of our yard and Ry's heart was taken. A neighbor up the street has a set of cocker spaniels who'd had a litter of 9 pups and they'd dug out under the fence to come visit.
For $100, we welcomed Peanut, a buff cocker spaniel boy who was just 3 months old. He has settled in nicely with Reese and the cats. He's a sweet boy and mom's cuddle pal.
The cats are well and full of personality. I'm trying to find a home for our last guinea pig, Patches. He's a sourpuss and with the pup, unfortunately not getting as much attention as he should.
I am still me. Still muddling through, stumbling on, doing my best. Family drama still occasionally (and sometimes more frequently) rears it's ugly head but I'm handling it with patience and the remembrance that I can't drown in it.
My little nieces are darling. Christmas this year, I thoroughly enjoyed shopping for my little 3 yr old and 8 month old girls. They came for Christmas Eve and I can say that Santa went a teensy bit overboard :P
Some days are not so great but I can't complain, overall. We're in a lull and the boat is staying afloat.
Biggest hugs to everyone.
N.

8:40 p.m. - 2010-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged