nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wrestling with the deadly Ensure can

I'm probably as tired of bitching about snow as you, dear reader, are of reading about it. However, it's still coming down. And I can't find one ounce of optimism in it. I basically slid thru the snow this morning going maybe 15 miles an hour to get my Trev to school, went to Gram's and watched some poor lady who was bringing in groceries for the elderly fall on her ass with a whomping WAP sound, thereby spilling open a big gallon container of orange juice.Trudged in and trudged out after slicing open two of my fingers on a stinking Ensure supplement can...do you know what that is? Here, let me explain. It's this liquid slime that older people drink chock full of nutrients that's supposed to ..I dunno..give them what they need without eating as much? (and eating less and less will help old people stay alive HOW?) So I see my poor tiny Grams trying to pry open this pop topped container of Ensure with a spoon..nice granddaughter that I am, I offer to open it. And then spent 10 minutes trying to pop this thing. If it's that difficult for a strapping young lady of 27ish, how do they expect old frail people to get these cruddy things open? So in the process, I sliced open two of my fingers. Lovely stuff. Gram's drank her Ensure, I borrowed some bandaids..we're in good shape. I slid halfway home, stopping to get bread and coffee and donuts (yes, I work in a cop shop) and then slid on home. In nicer news, my lil Ryguy is feeling better. The next part I'm gonna tell ya will make some people gasp and cry child abuse but anyone with asthma or a kid with asthma knows that cool, moist air is necessary sometimes in the winter. I left Ry's window cracked open last nite to let in the cold air because when he's like this, it helps him breathe better. And on the advice of the ER doc, that's what I did. I used to have a cool mist vaporizer that ran continuously in his room, all winter long, but that kicked the bucket. SOooooo..we improvised after asking the doc specifically if it was a good idea. She felt he would be fine soooo...ta da. And honestly, he's breathing much better this morning. Combo of Albuterol syrup and Zithromax and cold moist air. We're in much better shape. And now we're going to watch Spiderman for the umpteenth time sooo..bye.

N.

9:49 a.m. - 2003-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged