nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maternal, my ass.

Heard that song Concrete Angel by Martina McBride just a bit ago, and although I'm not what you would consider a country music buff, this song touched me in ways that are indescribable.

In local news here, a house fire claimed a set of 11 month old twins and left their 4 yr old half sister in the ICU. Their mother was sitting on the front steps when the paramedics and fire personnel arrived. SITTING ON THE FRONT STEPS!!! If my babies were inside a burning house, I'd damn well burn up myself before I'd come out without them. Period. End of story. Some may find this judgemental but I have some serious doubts about this woman's maternal instinct. Who on this Earth would just be calmly SITTING there, while their babies were upstairs?? In a housefire? Possibly burning up??

They're doing an intensive investigation, thank goodness. And while everyone else is playing pity party with poor lil mama, I have pity for the family but a certain sniggle of doubt.

Unfortunately, the great grandparents of those little twin girls had ten years earlier lost a son and daughter in law when said son went ape-shit and shot his wife then himself. I think that they've seen more than their fair share of tragedy. Poor poor little babies.

I've no real clue why I'm still awake at this time of the morning. It's been a semi-tranquil day. Easter shopping is done and don't you dare ask me how much I spent. Just know this will be like a mini-Christmas ,on Easter. There were just so many cute, cute things. Calling my name. Taunting me.

*sigh*

Third shift work tomorrow night. I'm going to be dead on my feet Monday. No school for the boys which means I'll have to keep going full-bore or I'll pass out on my feet. Wish me luck.

I'm off to watch Signs. By myself. In the dark.

N.

12:51 a.m. - 2003-04-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged