nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Days of wine and roses.

And so the American Idol for 2003 is Ruben. Somehow, the ending to this Idol was anti-climactic for me. It didn't have that BANG that last year's did.

Wandered around Wally World today and found some of the cutest kitty things in the world.I also found a dog toy very similar to the squeakie one I had the misfortune to hear yesterday. And then I went to the market (yes, THE MARKET) and stocked up on grillable foods for this weekend. I have to work the majority of it and on top of that Ohio weather is supposed to be rain-filled, but at some point, I WILL be barbecuing, damnit! My sons and I are going to spend this afternoon cleaning (they just don't know it yet) and sorting through toys I just sorted through 3 weeks ago. They're pretty good about getting things where they go, for the most part, but every now and again we have to do a dredging.

I have a mountain of clean laundry threatening to engulf my bed..I'm great about washing, drying and folding, but suck horrifically about putting it away. It tends to come to a resting place and just...stay there until I wear it again. The boys stuff gets put away. It's just MINE that doesn't.

Today is one of those deceiving days--bright and so sunny it almost hurts your eyes to see. You walk outside expecting it to be gloriously warm and get smacked in the face with cold breezes. It's almost like expecting to walk into your house through a glass sliding door that unfortunately, isn't open and slamming painfully into it. I won't complain about the sunshine, though. It's lovely.

Black smoke and flames kept traffic off one of the major highways near us yesterday afternoon. A tanker,carrying paint, ran into another semi and exploded. It literally took me over half an hour to get from one side of town to the other. They were funneling traffic off the highway and through town. According to the newsrag here, no one was hurt. I'm supposing there are some thankful people. I think my little town is getting a bad rep, though. Throughout the last year, we've been on the 11 o'clock news several times and none have been good things. A boy selling Xanax to his friends being prosecuted after those friends were killed,slamming into a stone wall going over 100 miles an hour; a hostage situation on the afore-mentioned major highway after a former police officer from another county killed his wife and then kept their children in the vehicle with him; a murder trial of a man who abused then hung his wife from garage rafters in front of their 3 yr old son; the trial of a man who stabbed another in the leg and severed an artery, almost causing him to bleed to death in one of our bars; the sentencing of a truck driver convicted of molesting little girls he'd take on 2 week trips in his rig with him....it goes on and on. And I know it's not only this town that has crime. It gets worse the bigger the city. I think sometimes that I just feel overwhelmed by it because one of my primary jobs as a parent is to protect my children. And how do you do that when it doesn't seem like there's anywhere safe?

bleh. Enough time out here. I need to be productive in other ways.

N.

10:53 a.m. - 2003-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged