nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bibbity bobbity boo my brain's a mass of goo

My sons have lost the ability to get along. It's true! The last second of the last minute of the last hour of the last day of school, that ability just disappeared. They've hit that plateau in siblinghood that dictates when speaking to each other, they have to limit the conversations to arguments that consist of two words---"did not", "did so". And where the rules state if someone else is playing with a toy, you must suddenly find it so appealing as to cause you to bop that person on the head and steal it away.

They can not hold civil conversations any longer, they immediately escalate to yelling at each other, and trying to injure the other in some bizarre and strange fashion. And while I have kept them apart, in separate rooms, I can't help but think this is not the way to teach them to solve their differences. However, allowing them to get to the point where they can settle these differences again might drive me to drink. Seriously! The sound of their bickering is like a razor slicing back and forth on my last nerve, stretched so tight it might snap of it's own accord.

Alot of it's due to the off and on rain we've had but I can only blame so much on the weather and lack of physical activity they've had. They simply need to re-acquire that skill that allowed them to get along. Or this will be the longest summer break in history concluded by a brain transplant for mom (who lost her's somewhere along the way).

Father's Day is this weekend. I'd call and wish my father a good day if I knew his number. I might stop and physically wish him one if I knew where he lived. I'll state the obvious-we're not overly close. I get to see him at family functions, and then only if he happens to show his face for the free food. I'm not bitter, and in fact am very grateful for the donation of sperm that helped create me. I honestly just don't know alot about him as a person, just what family members have told me. It's sad really.

The man that helped raise me, my stepfather, isn't here to wish a happy day to, either. I'll buy him a card and take it to the place where he died, as I do every year. I wonder sometimes if he knows how much I miss him.

I'm at loose ends today. Nothing pressing is needing done, housework is caught up,boys (for once) are fairly quiet. I'll have to see what kind of trouble I can get into.

Hope everyone is having a grand and wonderful humpday.

*addendum* I missed my 200th entry. This will make entry #203. *sigh* I'm just not good at keeping track here. Do they make a Dland milestone tracker? If so, I need one.

N.

9:18 a.m. - 2003-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged