nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A weekend saved is a family moment earned.

And so the weekend sputters to an end, saved in spite of the rain.

I worked my hours on Friday night with little aggravation and minor fits of giggles. One thing I have to say about SqueakyPaula is that she makes me laugh, and that's so a good thing.

I came home in the early morning hours and climbed into bed and slept until the boys crawled in and woke me up.

We puttered 'round the house a bit and ended up having a barbecue and stuffed ourselves silly. Saturday was spent in a leisurely manner, cooking in between spurts of rain and smatterings of thunder. We were up pretty late, playing a down-sized version of Charades and various other games. It was nice, family time well spent.

Sunday dawned with overcast skies and rumblings of thunder. We trundled off to the movies, and watched Hulk* (which I hated and thought was horriblely done and which scared Trevor). Dinner consisted of someone else preparing it and cleaning up after (always a good thing!) and then we came home and gifted Ryan. I bought him the yellow Power Ranger he wanted, found the green Good Luck Care Bear he'd requested and a few other (in his eyes) minor things. I'd also found a tiny version of another Care Bear (share bear? I don't know--it's purple!) which was from his brother and he was a happy camper.

Overall, despite my irritation on Friday, the weekend turned out fairly well. The boys were well-behaved and had fun, and therefore I did too.

-------------------

* I think the people who devised the making of this movie took liberties with storylines and honestly, it was just very disturbingly done. I didn't care for the comic book way they played off some of the scenes and I really didn't care for Nick Nolte's character; I thought it was rather confusing as to which side he was wavering on.

********************

I'm watching the tail end of Pay It Forward again for the 'teenth time. I love the idea behind this movie (except for the ending), there's something so ideallic about the whole theory that appeals to me. Just good stuff. Haven't seen it? Rent it. I mean it.

I hear my laundry calling. G'nite all.

N.

p.s. Remind me to tell you about the pickled pigs feet in the underwear drawer! Freaks abound!

9:53 p.m. - 2003-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged