nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ups and downs and ups...

Today has been a day of ups and downs. Officially, it's been a year since my mother's mother died as a result of colon/cervical/lung cancer. One year. I did my best to not dwell on it; however, this morning when I opened the paper, someone in our family had put a memorial in the classified portion of our newspaper and it brought immediate tears to my eyes. I just wasn't expecting to see that right there, a bold reminder that she was gone. I read it, tears slipping down my face, cut it out and slid it away, to be put with her mother's rings, her dog tags and the too few other things I have to remind me of her.

Today I also indulged my inner child. I spent too much money buying goofy things for the boys' Halloween parties at school on Friday, watched Sleeping Beauty while stuffing little goody bags full of nifty pop-up eyeballs and assorted other ghoulish treats, and got immensely frustrated trying to piece together Ry's spider suit. To say I was growling doesn't begin to describe it. Trying to affix spider legs evenly just isn't my forte.

We stretched miles worth of stretchy spiderweb-like cottony stuff all over the bushes and front deck, figured out the faces for carving on the pumpkins tomorrow and devised cupcake designs. All in all, it was a very productive afternoon. Add in to all that the fact that I managed to drag three children through the grocery store with me without (!!) losing my mind and you can count me happy. We also happened (accidentally) across a tiny little Halloween parade. And it truly was tiny.

***

Tonight is "fall back" time for the clocks. I suppose I ought to do it now, or I'll be forgetting.

***

It's pouring rain right now, thundering down on my roof and slashing lightning across the sky. Perfect. Stirs me but also makes me want to curl into someone's arms and listen to the mixed sounds of thunder and heartbeat all wrapped up.

Sweet dreams, Dlanders.

N.

10:08 p.m. - 2003-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged