nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm beat. I need a break. And it's not going to happen.

Hi there, dear diary. At a time in the evening when most people are hunkering down and getting themselves in the mindset to begin a new week, I'm taking a few moments to update and then getting ready for work again.

Yes, I am aware that I've already been there today. I'm aware that most normal people don't go to work more than once a day. I'm also aware that my body is pretty darn tired and my mind's not far behind.

Work is chaotic, and only going to get worse as the holidays creep in. One of the third shift girls is off for a week, and therefore we're having to fill in. I felt like typing I'M filling in, because that's sort of what it's crumbling down to. None of the other girls in my position seem to want to be bothered to work more than they're typical schedule. One has even gone so far as to blame her inavailability (is that a word?)tonight on the fact that her daughter has a in-stadium softball game tomorrow--what that has to do with TONIGHT I have not a clue.

The end result is that I'm just about maxed out on hours for the week, if you include the hours I'll be working Thursday and Friday evenings. One of the day shift girls are being merciful and covering half of tonight's shift for me so that I can get SOME sleep. It just won't be till 3 a.m.

Trevor had a birthday party to attend at the bowling alley this afternoon--he had a blast. I'm incredibly thankful to have the wonderful family that I do. There's no way I'd be able to function as I do without them.

Tomorrow they have Scouts, Tuesday evening it's Kindergarten through 3rd grade skating at the roller rink, Wednesday I forget what we're supposed to be doing and then I work Thursday and Friday, as well as a third shift over next weekend.

Someone pop me into a Calgon commercial, will ya? The saving graces? My sons enjoy their activities, I'll have a whopper paycheck (always nice), and there're only so many hours I'm available for call in. Thankfully those are about up.

***

I meant to spend time this weekend on my Nano, updating, adding and word-counting and that just hasn't happened. I think I'll be cramming as the time narrows.

It was so nice here today, almost warm and at times even full of sunshine. Gorgeous.

I hope everyone had a good weekend. We're heading into holiday season, which can be at times both lovely and hectic. Take the time to stop and enjoy the moments in your life that mean the most. Stop and watch your children play, listen to the little stories they tell, make sure those most important to you know they're loved. I know that waxes cheesy, but sometimes we all need a little cheese and a little reminder.

N.

8:10 p.m. - 2003-11-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged