nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pink Floyd and rainy days

What a supremely perfect morning! It's grey, foggy, overcast and raining and just warm enough to tempt me not to have a jacket on. It's one of those mornings I picture in my head as a typical one for Irish moors or English countrysides. Makes me feel just a little blue (not depressed, just a little introspective!) and up for a cuddle or twelve. My plans are to hibernate inside for a while, reading my diaries and working on my Nano, and then I have a date with Target as I need a new hairdryer and would like some new sheets. I also am going to squeeze in a nice long walk at some point, just to be out in the grey. It's good for my soul to be surrounded by nature, and to have quiet moments in my own head.

On that note, I was searching the radio for stations that played a more mellow brand of music this morning, and the best I came up with was an old rock station. And when Pink Floyd's Comfortably Numb came on, Ryan pipes up from the back and asks "why does that singer sound like he's sleeping?" to which I had no reply. How, exactly, do I explain to my 6 yr old that he sounds sleepy because he was probably tanked on about 3 different kinds of drugs and if he wasn't, then the singer was fried from past usage? They've heard me play Floyd in the past, as I like them and have even seen them in concert. Must have just perked his curiosity this morning.

Funny funny boys. I finally got Ry's night lights installed, one in the bedroom and the other in the bathroom and I swear by all that's holy, those rooms couldn't be brighter if I just flipped the light switch. Trevor, thankfully, has a knack for sleeping through anything and it seems to be helping Ryan so I guess that's the part that counts.

Happy Humpday, all.

N.

addendum---I love Target. And as I sit here with the rough sounds of the new Nickelback cd shouting in my ears, I'm a happy girl.

8:26 a.m. - 2003-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged