nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've been a busy girl

What a morning.

Since my aunts conspired to kidnap my Grams, they've since decided to keep her and take care of her themselves. I think I shared that previously.

I've been recruited to stay with Grams now daily, from right after I take the boys to school at 8 a.m. until either the home health care worker gets there or 2 pm comes, whichever occurs first.

Today was my first day of this schedule. Dropped the boys off and went to my aunt's home. Grams was in bed but not asleep. My uncle headed out the door to his body shop behind the house.

She's very befuddled, not only from age but from pain pills. And she's confused, trying to remember and figure out why she's not in her own bed. I spent the majority of the morning talking with her, telling her repetitiously what had happened to put her where she is. That's the only way she's going to get a handle on it all, if she ever does. My aunt Mag came and sat with us for quite some time, and I taught her how to move Grams from the bed to the potty chair and then into her wheelchair. My time working in the nursing home is really paying off! It's all in the pivoting. I left a little after noon today, as three of my aunts were there to take over.

That's how my mornings will now be spent, dispensing pain pills and taking care of my Grams. I have a stack of books that I'm going to read to her (she hates the television) in between her naps. That will help her pass the time a bit and take her mind off of not remembering anything. And it'll help, and that's the part that counts the most.

So my updates will be a little less often and maybe once a day instead of twice...and this is so worth it to me. I explained to my aunt Mag the reasons why I'm willing to give her my time every day when I'm only a granddaughter and those reasons made her cry like a baby. I think she understands now though.

It's all about family and it's all about love.

***

I have to go here in just a few--the boys have early release today. And then I need to pick up 'round the house. A productive day and I'm glad for it.

Happy Wednesday all.

N.

12:41 p.m. - 2003-12-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged