nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chilly bones, warm heart

I'm warm finally.

We spent about an hour today wandering around the quad up at the college, meandering between ice sculptures. I was amazed at the detail they coaxed out of those big old blocks of ice. There were mermaids and fish and eagles and a still life or two. Someone had carved a huge, ornate throne for picture opportunities, as well as four little eskimos with big holes where visitors could shove their faces through. We saw several Greek figures, straight out of mythology.

After that, we went to the dollar theater and saw The Cat in the Hat. It was amusing but certainly not worth all the hype I've heard. Ryan laughed his little butt off---I could hear his peals of laughter over those of people near us. That, of course, made me laugh, as it always does.

***

It's been one of those cold days that chills you to the core and takes forever to warm up from. I spent hugondous amounts of time under the spray in the shower and some of that heat finally soaked into my bones. And even after slathering myself up with lotion, my skin feels tight and dry. I think I'd have to swim in a vat of the stuff for an hour to make a difference right about now. Every little bit helps, though.

***

Tomorrow is, as Ry put it last year, Arthur Luther King Day. The boys are both home and will accompany me to take care of Grams. They'll find various ways to amuse themselves until it's time to go and then I promised my little sister we'd come get her for a bit. They enjoy the time together and helps me have some sort of relationship, albeit unusual, with her. No Scout meeting since it's a holiday. That's a nice change of pace.

And now that I've caught up a bit, my eyes are burning and I think I'm going to put Double Jeopardy on sleep timer and let it lull me to sleep. (Might not, though, as I've not seen it.)

Happy Sunday.

N.

9:16 p.m. - 2004-01-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged