nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cold, clean and bright.

There's another entry before this one, filled with not much of anything.

I needed to get this out of my head, though.

It's ghostly quiet outside, almost thick. There's a whisper of wind and an inhuman stillness to it all. Trying to see any sort of distance is like trying to peer through the thickest fog. The snow that's falling is so incredibly fine you can't see individual flakes.

It's cold and clean and there's such a ..purity to it.

And if you listen, I swear you can hear secrets in the rustling of the trees.

There are deer nestling themselves into a small clearing at the top of the hill in my backyard. I watched them cautiously making their way over the crest of that hill, alert and hesitant. And now all I can see through the misting snow is the outlines and vague shapes of them.

Such pristine beauty.

I know in the morning, when I go out to warm the car, I'll see the many tracks of rabbits going to and fro. The boys get a kick out of that, having said it reminds them both of a map. A food foraging map?

I'm looking forward to the morning, before the trucks and cars on my street get a chance to destroy the untouched results of this storm.

Cold. Clean. Bright.

N.

8:32 p.m. - 2004-01-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged