nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Miss me?

Four whole days since my last update...

there have been a multitude of things going on in my life that I won't detail. I've just been very busy and wrapped up in trying to maintain some sort of normalcy here. I know that everyone has moments of hunkering down and taking care of that which grounds them..this was one of mine.

Work was maddening, just a chaotic situation. Everyone and their brother decided this was a good weekend to call off. I wish I'd placed a bet of some sort on last night, too. I predicted, because it was her birthday, that DoilyWearer would call off and damned if she didn't! That left me pulling a twelve hour shift. The four hours of third shift were busier than the entire 8 hrs I'd been there for second. Funny stuff. Wackjobs abounded and it wasn't even a lunar change!

The packets for admissions and financial aid have been arriving in the mail. I've spent quite an amount of time filling things out but am still waiting on the one I want the most.

Josh spent the night on Saturday. Quite an experience. His mom called every two hours all night long. Apparently Can'tEatCan'tPoop Lady (aka Josh's mom) has more phobias than I was aware of and his carrying a cell phone graduated to her calling my house all night long just to make sure her son was still here/breathing/alive. Poor thing, I can't imagine living that way must be easy. Although she was worried that he wouldn't sleep (apparently doesn't sleep much at home--might be due to Mt. Dew intake, as well as lack of discipline) he did sleep for six hours and everything was fine. The boys had a blast with him here. I never knew little boys could sound so much like little girls--chatter,chatter,chatter.

Gramps went back to the hospital today to have the rest of his kidney stones removed, thus my not being there instead of typing this. Not sure how long of a recovery time he'll have--aunt is supposed to call tonight to let me know how it went, etc. I need to try to figure out how to talk my Gramps into not leaving his teeth in a glass of water in the kitchen sink. Not really a nice sight to be greeted with when you first walk in a door!

I've made an appt. with a vet to take Wraith in next week. She's losing hair on the inside of her hindquarters and looks..pregnant. She can't be--had her fixed as I did the rest of the cats here but she LOOKS it. Probably not good. Poor baby, someone suggested that having a male cat in the house has sent her hormones into disruption. Makes a strange sort of sense, I suppose.

The grapes in my backyard are purpling up nicely, or at least the ones the deer and birds haven't eaten already. The crabapple is going to lose it's fruit soon too and I noticed that our wildlife has stripped the blackberry brambles clean. The wild roses are losing their blooms, too. It may only be the beginning of August but I'm thinking we'll have an early winter. It's been a very mild summer thus far and is proving to be a very mild August as well. No complaints from me--I wasn't looking forward to the blistering heat that usually comes at this time of year for us.

Just over three weeks until school starts. Still have to get clothes for the boys, plan on doing that this next week. Supplies are done, just need shoes and backpacks. I'm trying to get the boys back on a semblance of schedule in order to be aclimated once school starts. It's not been too bad, really, as we never got completely off one to begin with. Just minor adjustments here and there.

Final note: Glad I was to see some of my favorites had updated after quite some time away! Welcome back.

Happy Monday, all.

N.

1:11 p.m. - 2004-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged