nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back to nermal, I think

It's been a couple days since an update but I have managed to keep up with getting my favorites read in that span. In fact, after a couple of days of non-updating, it seems as if Dland has suddenly erupted with new entries. Funny.

Work has kept me busy and tired, thus my absence. I'm beyond frustrated with that place and with my spineless Stuporvisor. Now, I understand that being the one in charge isn't always easy. However, we'd have alot less call-offs and problems with employee relations if she'd grow a spine and start penalizing people for having a shitty work ethic.

We have two women (both over the age of 35) who consistently call off. I swear they've gotten together and configured a plan where they take turns depending on who's weekend it is. "Your turn this weekend, Skeletor and I'll take next".

(Note: I used to call Skeletor Cryptkeeper as she resembles one but Skeletor is fitting as well and I like it a little more)

So, we have the Doilywearer (formerly known as the GirlWhoWearsHerDaughtersClothes)and Skeletor, who can't ever be depended on to show for their regularly scheduled work days, and on top of that won't even return calls when they get called in to cover for someone else. We have a new girl who gets her work done and then just sits there, not even answering the phone. We have BeepBeepVoicedGirl who is in Michigan half the time and can't be counted on for more than the four days a month she's scheduled. And then you have me.

I worked twelve hours on Thursday, from 3 in the afternoon until 3 in the morning, got off work to sleep 3.5 hrs, got back up to get the boys ready for school, drove them to school, came home to fall asleep for half an hour while watching the Weather Channel, woke up in time to stuff my poor Freya in a cat carrier, then pick up my check and cash it while on my way to the vet.

The vet. That was fun, too. Understand that my poor Freya has been losing large chunks of hair, and has this awful raw spot on her neck, therefore needing to see the vet. She let out these mournful meows the whole way to and from the vet's office and freaked in a big way once I got her out of the damn carrier. Getting her back in again after the vet had seen her was a trick and a half. Bottom line? My cat has allergies. He gave her a shot and some antibiotics and sent us on our way, none the worse for the wear if you discount that I had more hair on me after than she did.

I spent $60.00 to have the vet tell me my cat has allergies.

*sigh*

Got home and I tried to sleep but heat (all kinds of heat) kept me from sleeping. I got some rest though, and was relaxed in ways that shouldn't be legal. In the midst of my relaxation, work called to ask if I was up for another 12 hr shift as the same damn Skeletor had called off again. And when I replied that I'd had a max of 3.75 hrs of sleep and HELL NO, I received the cold shoulder. Nice.

Got up, showered, ran errands and went to work for another 8 hr stretch.

I subscribe to the theory involving full moons and lunatics and last night was a key example of how wackjobs come out of the woodwork the closer you get to a full moon.

We had a guy who stood in his neighbor's yard and peed on their dog, two guys caught nightfishing, only with the wrong sort of poles (a penis isn't a normal fishing tackle), a lady who wanted to fax me her bank statement so I could call the phone company and let them know that the Mormons were trying to make her a money launderer, and lots of drunk people, not to mention the lady trying to get her car out of impound after her husband blew a .258 and got nailed for OVI. She was a riot and a half. Nasty tempered and foul-mouthed. It was lovely. The situation degenerated to the point of her telling me that we shouldn't have impounded the vehicle and me telling her that her husband shouldn't have drank so much and we wouldn't have had to. I think I offended her.

Probably not the most appropriate thing to say but when you're working on three hours of sleep and no patience with a harpy, things like that'll slip.

Anyway, I finally got home and into bed and slept a whopping seven hours last night, so I'm in a little better frame of mind.

End of rant.

***

Hi. How are YOU? Things going well in your world? It's been awhile since we had a chance to really catch up, but I've been thinking about you. I hope the kids are good, hope work's flowing smoothly, hope you're in a good space right now. Let me know when a good time to catch you is, and I'll do my best. I'd like to touch base.

***

Happy Saturday.

N.

9:48 a.m. - 2004-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged