nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whirlwinds and tornadoes

Hi.
This is the first time I've been online in days. I've been swamped and in the small amounts of time I've had available to get online, I've been more interested in sleep or other things.
Work at the law enforcement agency has been a casserole of rumor, flavored heavily with tales of pending lay offs and possible retirement-buyouts. Our department needs to slice a quarter of a million dollars from next year's budget and everyone seems to think it'll start with clerkly jobs. I got called in for someone, worked until the wee morning hours which royally screwed up my schedule the next day, worked way too much with AnalRetentiveWoman and got really rather bitchy by the time it was all said and done.
I've worked quite a bit at Job Numbah 2 and have mastered everything but the cruddy paperwork at the end of the shift. In defense of myself, I will say that I've only been through it all twice (today being the second day). I'm still learning and I think it's just that I hate messing things up so badly. Add into that the fact that I also dislike being the "new girl".
Gramps is fine and I've begun going up daily instead of three times a week, in an effort to alleviate my hourage there on certain days and also to lessen the amount of cleaning I've ended up doing on those three days. Daily cleanups will work oh so much better.
The boys are grand, funny and looking forward to their time off next week. I can't believe it's almost Thanksgiving already. Time is flying.
Life in general isn't bad, just busy and I'm making a concerted effort to ATTEMPT to keep upbeat and focused. Seems to be helping in small increments--I just need to get into my groove!
That's been the last several days in a nutshell. There are other things mixed in there but nothing I really need to detail here.
Today was a comedy of errors. I could definitely tell it was Monday. My day began early and when it was finally time to take the boys to school, I was in full busy bee mode. I managed to walk out of the house without my keys and locked the door firmly behind me. Panic ensued, as I'd just put up storm windows and knew that just about every window was surely locked and blocked. I did find one window, one of the ones over the kitchen table, that was able to be opened. I had to hold Ryan over my head at arms' length and shove his squirmy body through the window. He then came back out the front door...and closed it, still locked, behind him! Back he went through the window and snagged my keys and away we went. Or so I thought. As I began backing out of the drive, I heard a thump and was greeted with a torrent of muddy liquid coursing down my side window. Smart lass that I am, I'd forgotten in the hubbub that I'd set my cappucino on the roof of the car and as I drove away, the obvious happened. I had to then stop, run inside after a towel and hurriedly wipe it off the side of the car. The boys got to school just under the bell and I set off on my errands. I needed to go to Woo-town in order to cash a check at the bank it was drawn on over there and needed to get back in time to get to Job Numbah 2 by tenish.
Everything went okay at work UNTIL then end. In the close out process, there's a series of steps we follow. Unfortunately, I began with the very last step today, thereby nixing all the others. In fact, I made it impossible for my manager to finish her paperwork as well. To say I was pissed at myself would be downplaying it. I then went straight to Gramps' to find he'd destroyed the kitchen AND the bathroom over the weekend. I got those cleaned top to bottom and realized he wanted me to go to the grocery store as well. That wasn't going to happen until after the boys got off the bus, as my window of opportunity had gotten suddenly smaller.
I finally got off my feet around 6 pm tonight, when we went to Jake's Steakhouse because I'd decided I just wasn't cooking tonight.
The boys are now snuggled into bed, asleep and peaceful. My back hurts as does my feet so I think a hot bath sounds heavenly. Bubbles and heat and dark. Is it weird to take bubble baths in complete darkness?
At any rate, I'm back.
Happy Five-Days-I-Was-Gone.
And happy Monday.
N.

8:19 p.m. - 2004-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged