nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I don't want to be laid off!!!

Ah, dear diary.
I talked to FavoriteCoworker last night and also read the front page of our paper this morning and I'm almost positive that I'll be laid off from my primary job. Apparently the fulltimers' union rep met with the captain yesterday and he questioned what it would take for the fulltimers to come down to a 32 hr work week. FavoriteCoworker feels that parttimers will be cut completely and we'll run off of two shifts, with third shift being completely done away with. The newspaper reports that cutbacks, layoffs and job freezes are inevitable.
Keep your fingers crossed for me, will you? It would be a huge blow to the Nixtress household if I lose my main source of fundage.
In other news, there isn't any. My week is managing to slow a bit. And Friday, although Pay the Vultures/Payday, is my only day completely free from Work-work *unless you count Gramps' and Grams' laundry*
Hoo-rah.
Friday is Mega-Night for the boys--having turned their fundraiser money in on time, they and others are being treated to a three hour spree of jumping like out of control monkeys in those big blow up jumper thingies, games galore, junk food and candy and prizes. Oh, yay. They'll come home and bounce off the walls Friday night.
And only two days of school next week and then it's Thanksgiving. I have to work most of the way through next week but we'll manage to squeeze it in somewhere. (I HOPE!)
Happy Humpday.
N.

7:24 a.m. - 2004-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged