nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boosted confidence in mankind

First off, I was pleasantly surprised to see when I logged in today that outfoxed had added me to his favorites. I'm feeling honored, as I think he's one of the best writers in Dland.
***
Today was one of those surprising Ohio days, where the weather isn't remotely what it should be. The day began a little foggy, overcast and sporadically drizzly. The morning blossomed into an unusual afternoon, peppered with occasional storms, gusts of wind, and sunshine, sometimes at the same time! It was bizarrely warm for this time of year, 60 degrees, and the clouds were moving across the sky the way leaves do through a fast moving stream. It's really true what they say about Ohio--if you don't like the weather, wait five minutes and it'll change.
I'm starting to catch a little of the Christmas spirit. My faith in humanity was renewed last night. In the span of my 3.5 years at the law enforcement agency, I've managed to not mess up my bonds and waivers. Until last night. A man came in to pay his $94.00 waiver on an open container summons. While in the midst of settling that situation, someone else called to request extra patrol and was nasty from the get go. Then an officer appeared at the window requesting information from our Interbadge system and since AnalRetentiveWoman was already typing something on a stupid card, she couldn't be bothered to help with any of this. End result was that I issued a receipt for the waiver and the gentleman walked away--without having paid me!! I realized this after I relayed information to the officer and got the jerk off the phone. By that time the waiver dude had left the vicinity in an unknown vehicle. I was having kittens--not many people have $94.00 just laying around at Christmas time to toss away. And that's pretty much what would have happened. The court has been known to deduct screwups like that from people's checks or to call them in the morning and make them come pay the twenty bucks they're short out of pocket. Not something I looked forward to, either way. I called one of the court ladies at home, brought my shift commander up to speed and called the waiver guy at home to make him aware that if he didn't come back to pay the waiver, the receipt wasn't valid, etc.
After making myself half sick worrying, after crying during my break (because it's tough enough facing the fact that my main source of income is almost over, let alone being in a job market that sucks and worrying over Christmas and kids, etc but then knowing that my perfectionistic self screwed up to the tune of $94.00 was unacceptable!), I resigned myself to the fact that there wasn't anything to be done.
And then he came back. When I looked up and saw him waiting at the door for me to buzz him in, it felt as if my heart were exploding in my chest. He could easily have kept that money and it would have been my word against his--he already had the receipt. Instead, he (for whatever reason) came back and paid it off. So many other people would not have been so honest. I don't know what motivated him and to be honest, I don't care. I'm just glad he came back. I'm glad there are still decent people in the world. I'm glad I don't have to short my kids' Christmas by $94.00. I'm glad.
***
I bought the dog a sweater. Yep, one of those dorky sock-looking things they sell at Wally World. And she hates it! It took me a bit to wiggle her into and when finally I succeeded, she wiggled her way right back out. Then she attacked it like a piece of raw meat. She snarled and chomped it and blatantly showed her dislike of it. And every time I pulled it out thereafter, she did the same thing. No sweaters for Gracie.
Happy Tuesday.
N.

11:18 p.m. - 2004-12-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged