nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Coffee grubs

More snow in this Godforsaken place known as Ohio. I'm guessing we're back to full-fledged Winter again. The temps have hovered in the teens and overnight last night we got approximately four inches of snow. The streets are crap and it took me half an hour to get the kids to school and then back home. You'd have thought they'd cancel school or at least have a delay since they called off school when the roads were fine but not this wacko place. We must be getting tight on snow days.
There are still some areas surrounding us that are having problems with flooding. The Mohican area has consistently stayed that way and I know places between here and Mansfield are still covered and I'd imagine with today's weather, possibly frozen.
For whatever reason, I couldn't get to sleep last night. I lay in bed, flipping between Save the Last Dance and Fear, listening to the dog snore and feeling my foot fall asleep as she lay across it. The last time I looked at my clock it was nearing four a.m. I think it's apparent that today will be filled with naps.
People at coffee counters in convenience stores are rude and inconsiderate. Have you ever stood behind someone who, knowing there are people waiting, takes their damn good ole time pouring the java, and then dumping everything known to man into it, stopping to sip and then adding more? It's almost as if they know how very irritating it is when you're in a hurry and are pushing buttons. Then you've got the ones who make an unholy mess of everything, dropping perfectly fine cups on the floor and dripping coffee all over as they pour and then leaving those little plastic peel-top thingies of creamer open and sliming the counters. Then they try to open seventeen packets of sugar or almost-sugar at one time and it explodes everywhere so they drop the small ripped off pieces of packet and hurriedly dump everything in the cup...
then they calmly walk off to pay for their pollution and leave the mess behind for others to work around.
Drives me nuts. Right up there are the people who use the automatic cappucino machines and overfill the cup so that it flows right over the counter while still running and they walk away leaving it that way. Who wants to slog through someone else's cappucino mess just to get their own? I'm careful so as not to overflow because I don't want a slippery sticky mess on my own, why would I want someone else's slippery sticky mess coating my cup?
Sheesh. I understand being in a hurry but isn't there such a thing as coffee etiquette?
Happy Wednesday, all. I'm thinking I need a nap.
N.

8:53 a.m. - 2005-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged