nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

With the world turning circles running 'round my brain..

I will be impaled by a frozen urine spike expelled from a jetliner



How will you die? Take the Exotic Cause of Death Test

***
Isn't that just the luck?
I've had a headache for about two days now but I'm thinking it's finally letting up. Not a tumor, not a migraine, just stress.
Things here are as they have been. Not much new to report. I've spent some time catching up on my list of diaries--my 'Net went away for a couple days so I've got lots to read up on.
***
Reading outfoxed 's entry today got me thinking. Even with the mess I had as a child, there were parts that were simplistic and free and those are the ones I miss most. My creek didn't have the rope. It was tangled with brush and fallen trees and meandered it's way through a nice expanse of forest. There were trails worn through, from beasties and kids alike and I spent a good part of my life there, parked on a rock or perched on a log, book in hand with toes dangling in the water. We created smaller pools for swimming with rocks of all sizes and played hide and seek in the dusk and dark and carved random patterns with our toes in the dirt. It was...freeing to be out there, at my own whim, staying until the hairs on your neck prickled with chill or fear or 'squitos ate you up or you knew your mom was going to ground you for life.
I think there are still parts of that in our daily lives as adults. They're masked in things like driving 65 on back roads with the windows open, smelling the earth and the trees or the anticipation of opening a new book for the first time or getting the heck out of Dodge for a day or a week or a month, with all the possibilities streaming behind your eyes. Just not as easily recognizable, but still there somewhere.
Happy Thursday. It's almost the weekend.
N.

2:51 p.m. - 2005-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged