nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A little more substance

I'm really worried about J-up-the-street. His mother is reporting a significant change in behavior since he started on his Prozac. She claims he's having anxiety attacks semi-regularly and that he's become hyper, to the degree that she seriously cannot handle him. Now, I keep in mind that she's got some issues herself that get in the way of handling some of his, but still. I think anxiety attacks at 7 aren't a good thing. He's just a couple weeks older than my Ry and they're polar opposites in many ways. Tonight on the phone, his mom was talking quite literally about checking herself into a mental hospital because she said that she just can't handle the stress of dealing with all his new behaviors.
Poor kid. I can't help but think he just needs someone to mark the lines out and stand on them firmly, not letting him waltz all over them. He needs boundaries. I'm not saying that would fix everything but he's practically begging someone to tell him "no" and mean it. You can see it in everything he does.
In Family Drama, Sunday morning my little brother called bright and early to see if I'd spoken with our mother. Following on the heels of that call was a call from my mother, asking if I'd spoken to Brother B. In a nutshell, B. has been living with my mother, her bf and our baby sister C. On Saturday, everyone (minus 9 yr old C) got plastered and a fight ensued. My mother cracked B. across the face several times, he tossed her to the floor and decked her bf. then tore the phone out of the wall and took off because she threatened to call the sheriff.
*insert sigh here*
I don't want in the middle. I've explained this many times to both of them. I have happily removed myself from that turmoil, did it many years ago and plan on continuing. I'm not playing mediator to their squabbles. I wish they'd all just grow up. And now, none of my immediate family is talking to anyone. Neither of my brothers speak to the other, after the whole girlfriend switcheroo. My mother isn't speaking to either of them because she's allowed them to mooch off her so many times that taking advantage has become second nature. And I don't want drawn into any of it, so I just hibernate in my little corner of town.
***
Idol tonight...tough call. I really would like to see Bo win but I'm thinking it'll be Carrie. Not that it really matters, either way. They'll both end up with contracts, regardless.
***
It's chilly and raining again. A lovely night to snuggle under the comforter with the window cracked just a smidgeon. That's just what I intend to do. Once the Indians kick the Twins ass in overtime, that is.
Happy Tuesday, one and all.
N.

9:59 p.m. - 2005-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged