nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lake Sludge

The stupid drain in the middle of the stupid floor in the stupid basement backed up again.
That put a swift and immediate end to my chore list. No laundry, no dishes, couldn't even flush the stupid toilet or take a stupid shower. Of course this occurred on Labor Day, a day when no laborers and specifically, NO PLUMBERS are working. SO. My basement was mucky and yucky for an entire day and half of another.
I called first thing this morning to get them in gear and TheSnaker finally showed up close to noon. I, of course, hadn't showered because I could NOT. Nothing like answering the door knowing you look like crap, having a basement floor filllllled with crap.
Joy and happiness.
Thankfully, it's done and over with. My dishes are done, my laundry is done, everyone and their brother has had a shower...Life is good again.
And my basement carries no odor or residue other than bleach, bleach and more bleach. Such fun to be a head of household.
***
I want to see that new Tim Burton film, Corpse Bride. I love Tim Burton, loved Nightmare before Christmas, love the whole style of it all. Yes, I admit I have a macabre side to me.
***
The Can'tEatandCan'tPoop household is moving too. They plan on being out by Oct. 1st. Can't stand living next to BabyBeater'sWife anymore and Mr.Can'tEat has accepted a job up north in a company nearly identical to the one he's at now, with a raise in pay. Originally, Mrs.Can'tEat said they'd be moving back once BabyBeater'sWife moved out but that plan has changed. The house up the street will be rented out for a number of years and then they'll be selling it. They won't be back. Needless to say, Trev is crushed. Not only has he lost Ave, now he's losing J. as well. I'm just hoping we get some semi-normal neighbors to fill these vacancies.
***
I read an article today that broke my heart. In the mess that is New Orleans and has resulted from that cruddy hurricane, rescuers came across a ragtag group of babies, seven total, led by a 6 yr old. These small children were without adult companionship but were eventually linked to parental units.
I just wonder how many kids won't be. How many kids are without the people who love them? All because of incompetence.
Makes me incredibly sad.
***
Life continues to stumble on. In my neck of the woods, we're rapidly trundling towards Fall. The days are still fairly warm but evenings are getting progressively cooler. It's my belief that we'll have snow before Thanksgiving, a tad earlier than our norm. I notice small splashes of color in our countryside, trees dotting here and there with leaves prematurely changing. It's going to be a spectacular change of seasons.
Happy Tuesday, all.
N.

9:35 p.m. - 2005-09-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged