nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Sound of Music and males

The Sound of Music is on television tonight. I love this musical. Who'm I kidding? I love most musicals. Perhaps that's typical of most women but it's true. When I was a little girl, I used to pretend to be Maria. I'd sit in my room, talking to my invisible charges and singing to myself. The setting of the show was completely lost on me at that point. I thought it was romantic to be able to care for someone else's children in such a huge and lovely place as she did.
Perhaps that was an indicator I should have paid attention to! Maybe I was meant for a life of servitude...but then, being a mom is basically the same thing, isn't it? Taxi, housekeeper, governess, nurturer.
The boys gave me the "eye roll" when I informed them that I was going to watch The Sound of Music and promptly headed for the hills. Such boys!
Did I mention we got Ry's glasses back? He's all in fine form again. No more bends or quirks or breaks. And he promises to leave them alone. That remains to be seen!
***
I went to my Gramps' today because I needed to drop off something I'd picked up for him. I wasn't there long but in the time that I was, we discussed odds and ends and specifically, Christmas. He commented that it's just not the same with Grams. And then I noticed tears gathering in his eyes. I can't imagine what this time of year is like for him without her. Yes, he can visit her but it's not the same. They always went to midnight mass together, always had firm traditions. It must be heart rending to change after all these years. I did my best to change the subject and lift his spirits and I think I succeeded for the most part. My poor Gramps.
***
My Christmas shopping is DONE! I've even gotten most of it wrapped and tucked back into the depths of my closet. I'm very happy. And I can't wait till Christmas! I think I anticipate it almost as much as the boys do!
Happy Saturday, everyone.
N.

7:49 p.m. - 2005-12-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged