nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Ms. N actually ties one on

It's been a couple of days. Not alot filled those days, other than the typical madness that just is.
Trev and Ry are peachy as ever, counting the days now till Spring Break. I remember as a kid doing the same thing, not because I hated school so much but more because it helped to pass the time. I love school. It was the one place I could count on not having to deal with drunks or fighting. It was a safe place for me and heck, why not? It had a built in library! I was such a bookworm. Still am, for that matter.
Went out last night, to a belated company Christmas party with someone. I rarely go out, so this was a treat. Dinner was prime rib and chicken and some sort of fishy substance that I wasn't brave enough to attempt, with assorted veggies and salad. There was a Fleetwood Mac cover band playing, not bad but not dance-able either. It was fine to listen to, though. And they had gambling. Monopoly money and poker tables, slot machines, roulette and every other assortment of device or game to play. I've never gambled in my life (can't even play poker) so it was kind of fun. At the end of the night, we turned in what "funny money" we had left in exchange for tickets, which then go dropped into one of several baskets for a raffle. They had raffled gift cards and gift certificates throughout the night but the end-of-night raffle was for things like a big screen tv, dvd players, multi-disc cd players, etc.---the bigger ticket items. It was funny to hear people whooping when they discovered they'd won.
I got a centerpiece (heh. Can't scoff at a beautiful arrangement of fresh flowers, I guess), and left with a nice hazy alcoholic buzz. I drink maybe once a year, at best, so it didn't take much (an amaretto sour, a screwdriver, cranberry and vodka and a jack and coke) but it was fun to go out and just be an adult, having a good time, knowing my kids were well-taken care of and tucked in with my aunt. Add to that my tendency to be a giddy, giggly and goofy drinker and fun times were had.
The only thing that marred the evening was a couple we sat with for dinner. They were toasted by the second hour and by 10 pm., plain gone. Everything was fine until a drink accidentally got spilled by the male half into the female half's lap and then it went to the dogs. She was peeved and made no bones about it, standing up and literally yelling at him at the table. He, in turn, responded by apologizing over and over and over. She just refused to accept it and that pissed HIM off. It sort of took the shine off the evening for me, because I tensed up and quickly bolted from the table. Just can't deal with angry drunks that I don't know well. At one point, I saw them both heading out the door and thought to myself that they were entirely too drunk to think about driving but they returned about 15 minutes later, hand in hand.
The bizarre part to me was that the argument wasn't about the drink spillage. It was about her now having to change before they headed to a bar after the party. Like they needed more alcohol! Ah well. Not my place to play "mommy". I was returned to my home, crawled into bed and promptly went to sleep.
Thankfully, no hangover. Life is good.
***
Happy Sunday.
N.

1:50 p.m. - 2006-01-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged