nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BMV, Brownies and (munchausen) By Proxy

ISO: one driver's license featuring personal information and photo of one elderly gentleman. Per the norm, the picture's not the best but it's of my Gramps and I'd be really appreciative if his SSN weren't used to completely ruin his credit for whatever's left of his life span.
That said, I have been designated as Taker-Of-The-Elderly-Man to the BMV on Wednesday. We all know what it's like to go to that place on a GOOD day...try imagining a BAD day while attempting to streamline the experience for an 80-something man who doesn't hear all that well.
Yep. Wednesday is going to be a hoot and a half. I'm looking forward to it!
***
I made the best brownies ever. Fudgey and chewy and yummmmmmy all on it's own. THEN. I got the grand idea of adding chocolate chips. Oh. My.
They're extremely rich but outstanding.
***
This week marks Proficiency testing time for my boys. I'm not overly worried. It's part of the whole No Child Left Behind thingamajig that our state has put into play. Other than encouraging my children to have test-anxiety, I think they're sort of a joke. How can you pick a day or even a week and say you're going to test an entire grade-ful of kids to see what they know? How accurate can that be? Knowing my kids, they'll have a bad day or get so caught up in ANYTHING else, they'll completely ignore the directions and skunk on them anyway. That doesn't make me believe that they don't know what they need to. They're smart kids and if they didn't know what they were supposed to, I'd be seeing some dismal report cards (or at least, I'd better be!) And in all honesty, I know probably better than anyone that my Ry has some serious time-management issues. If he even manages to get the test done in the time alotted, I'll be amazed.
I understand the theory behind the proficiency testing...just can't say that I agree with the methods.
***
ThatCousin has managed to get her daughter a spot on television as part of TheChildrenz Mir@cle Netw0rk. I'm wondering how much further she's willing to go in her attention-seeking efforts. When does it become exploitation and not just her idea of trying to help a cause? When is it okay to just let the kid be a normal, now-healthy kid instead of this...cause? I'm concerned about Pnutty. When does she get to be a normal toddler?
Maybe I'm just not looking at it in the right perspective.
***
Thank you for the notes lately. They've meant alot.
Happy week.
N.

9:55 p.m. - 2006-03-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged