nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sort of a long day.

Gracie the dog has settled herself on my pillow, looking very comfortable and very much like a furry child wanting to sleep with it's parent. She keeps giving me this look that just screams, "What?! Can't you see I'm trying to sleep here?"
It's cute. I love that about my furry babies. They have such distinct personalities and very diverse natures and yet, I've never had pets that were quite so human-esque.
***
Trev's parent/teacher conference was tonight. It went better than I'd thought it would but still, I was left wishing I knew how to make things a little more streamlined for him. He struggles socially and that's the gist of many of his issues at school right now. He's just trying too damned hard to fit in and to make people like him. Problem being, it's jsut enough that it's getting him into trouble.
*sigh* It frustrates me. As a parent, I just want to fix things for him. As an adult, I want to snap those kids to attention and make them realize that "being cool" is more than just what you wear or how you talk. As someone who's gotten through the school years, I want to reassure my son that when it's all over with, half those people you'll never see again. And unfortunately, I can't do alot to change any of it. I'll just keep doing what I've been doing---listening when he needs me to, correcting what I can, and maintaining a semblance of consistency.
***
My Grams' sister, my great aunt Kay, isn't doing well. She's not woken up in over 24 hrs. The doc isn't yet calling her comatose, but it's close. It's so weird because when Grams died, they moved Aunt Kay over into the space that used to be Grams and there's a stranger in Aunt Kay's space now. It seems wrong to see ANYONE in Gram's space.
My great aunt Florence's funeral service is this weekend but I'm not going. I've sent flowers up and been reassured by my aunts that it's okay to not attend. I have a feeling we'll be planning Aunt Kay's soon, too.
***
I'm going to bed. It's been a bit of a long day and I'm ready to scootch the dog over and succumb to my fatigue. Happy weekend all.
N.

8:36 p.m. - 2006-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged