nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ry's 9

I've spent the last several days trying to prepare for Ryan's birthday today, trying to get the house cleaned up, groceries bought, present purchased, etc. Not the easiest thing to do when the kiddos aren't in school and I don't have a sitter of any sort anymore. ::long story, for another day::(Note to self: find a high schooler for occasional sitting).
My little man is 9. He was up before the sun, even, and we spent some quiet time on the couch just cuddling and talking. He wanted to hear "his" story, pregnancy to now. I told him all about how I was swimming when labor started, how long it took to bring him into the world, how the magic of sunshine "erased" his jaundice. I made sure I added his favorite parts---what a quiet and wise baby he was, all eyes and rare cries, how he hated baby food (so much I ended up wearing it each and every time I tried to feed it to him) and transitioned basically from a bottle to mashed up adult food...all the stories that make up his childhood.
He asked to see his birth certificate, wanting to know when his birthday officially started (8:40am).
I'm still amazed, some days, by what an old soul he is. He's 4'3", a milestone height for him and handsome, all bright blue eyes and white-blonde hair. Every year he gets older, I see more of his devilish side emerging. He's bright and funny, with a sharp wit and an impatient streak an acre wide.
My Ryan. In the downhill stretch towards turning 18 and entirely TOO happy about it.
Happy birthday, Little Pistol.
N.

1:07 p.m. - 2006-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged