nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Damned bees, 9/11 reminders and Fall

Bees just suck. I mean, really, really, reallySUCKwithacapitalS.
Of all things, I stopped at a garage sale today, was looking at the adorable little girl clothes they had (some with tags still on!) and felt that familiar zingy-stingy. I looked down at my thigh, very close to my knee, and had to swat away the crappy yellojacket that had randomly decided I was the enemy and so must be stung!
Of course, I'm at a garage sale and would have seemed more than a little strange, asking the homeowners to let me barge into their home and use their baking soda, right now PLEASe!
So I dealt with it. Plus it was only one little sting as opposed to the multiples I received while mowing so it was a tad more easily handled. I did manage to get some reallllllllllllly cute outfits for Tater and Pnut. It's so fun to shop for girls---completely different than shopping for boys!
Damned bees anyway.
***
I'm sitting here with tears pouring down my face, having been watching Primetime on ABC tonight. It was devoted to the children and widows from a previous broadcast about the 9/11 tragedy and still, to this day...it touches me on all sorts of sad levels, to see these little children and their mothers, survivors of such terrible loss and all because of some ridiculous notion by people trying to make a point at cost of human life.
So sad.
***
It's been absolutely gorgeous around here the last several days. Fall is falling all around me, although not in the obvious signs of changing leaves and woodsmoke drifting from chimneys. It's been noticably cooler, with a tone of change to the air. The skies have been a beautiful and clear blue, a perfect backdrop for the geese that have begun to fly over. We had just enough rain to help the grass green up again but in the way that sings of end-of-Summer. I'm looking forward, as I do every year, to the pumpkins, the colors, the crisp texture to the air we breathe. I'm looking forward to planning Halloween costumes, carving pumpkins, mulling cider and making comfort foods that leave the entire house smelling like fresh-baked bread and warm spices.
I'm looking forward to the damned bees going into sleepdown until next year!
Happy Thursday, one and all.
N.

10:14 p.m. - 2006-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged