nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blown over

Last night's dinner was interesting. There were a substantial amount of people to watch and the food was good. I ate only things that were good for me (in spite of the EXTREMELY tempting, huge table full of oozy chocolate and caramely pies and cakes).
It's interesting to me, observing people you don't know and trying to guess about them from your observations. There was one lady whom I think I was probably right on about, dressed in an appropriate manner but rather desperate in her mannerISMS. She seemed rather unhappy in the beginning, although trying to force a smile now and again. Her gaze kept hovering over a man and another woman, very obviously his wife. They were oblivious to the glower that was centered on them and were having an enjoyable time. As the evening wore on, the unhappy woman became obviously intoxicated and began talking overloudly about inconsequential things, edging a little nearer to them in the crowd, laughing outrageously enough to draw glances from others...
Someone's heart was bruised, there.
There were tables set up for people armed with Monopoly money (basically) to play craps and roulette and poker. I tried my hand at roulette for awhile, trying to rid myself of the chips that were rapidly amassing and then gave up and gave them away. How ironic to keep winning when you're trying to lose, hmm?
I drank a Jack and Coke and after the warming effects eased away, I left.
Instead, I went to a movie by myself. It was nifty to see a film that was not geared towards kiddos.
And it was a very good movie.
If you get a chance to see We Are Marshall, you should. It's a sports-oriented sort of film but it's got a bigger message. It's tragic and heartening in the same breath.
Plus, you'll hear mentioned in the movie two towns from Ohio, one of which is mine.
Not that I would recommend a film purely for that reason (heh).
All in all, not a terrible evening. Helped to circumvent my odd mood. That's always a good thing.
***
Sunday has been quiet so far. I believe it'll probably continue that way. I picked the boys up from my aunt's house this morning and it's always a joy to bring them back home. I enjoy my time away from them but just as much, enjoy it with them.
Happy Sunday, all.
N.

11:21 a.m. - 2007-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged