nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

warmth

The cold continues and school has been cancelled for tomorrow too.
I get it, though. Who really wants their kiddos out standing, waiting for the bus in this crap?
Not I.
We spent the day lazing around a bit, watching movies and just keeping warm. It was nifty.
Trevor's grounded for backtalking and is bummed in a big way. I would imagine that it sucks to be grounded while on Snow Day, especially when it means you have to spend the entire day in your room. Happy Boy, now learning that backtalking his mother (which he disagrees with, of course! He was just trying to explain that he WASN'T backtalking, per his story) has consequences.
***
I've begun reading Mystic River by Dennis Lehane. I very much realize it's already been made into a movie but I haven't seen it and actually prefer to read the book before seeing the movie, if I'm able to.
I just finished a book called The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. It's an outstanding memoir of her early years and is poignant to me. I thought I had a tweaky childhood!! She writes about hers with a complete lack of self pity and without an ounce of bitterness. It's amazing to see someone coming to grips with beginnings like she had.
Admiration doesn't cover it.
***
I've settled into a nightly ritual of a steaming cup of hot chocolate before bed. It's a low fat/low sugar sort but tastes just fine. It warms me from the inside out and that's been a wonderful thing. There just aren't enough things that do that in this world.
Happy Monday from The Ohio Tundra.
N.

8:42 p.m. - 2007-02-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged