nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Concert update.

Friday's concert rocked in ways that shouldn't be legal.
For starters, I'd never been to the House of Blues and wasn't sure what to expect. HINT: if you're going to the concert because you love the music more than you want to see a "show", a small venue like this is PERFECT.
There were couches and big, overstuffed chairs settled in either side of the stage, tickets that had cost twice what mine had. There were balcony seats as well and I think they were probably really good seats too.
To be honest, I don't know that there were any BAD seats! Of course, I don't think I would have enjoyed the standing room section much but for some people, it works.
SO. Concert.
It was outstanding. Aaron Lewis came out on stage, dressed like a regular Joe in jeans, t-shirt and an Indians baseball cap. He settled on one cocked hip on the edge of a stool amidst hoots and howls from all of us and tucked one of his three acoustic guitars against his belly and strummed a chord.
Throughout the evening, he'd play a few songs and then chitchat a bit with the crowd, tossing out tidbits of info about the tunes or just jacking around.
He's very snarky! Gotta love a sense of humor.
He wicked through the familiar favorites fairly quickly, occasionally interrupted by a drunk ass here or there yelling some unintelligible piece of verbal garbage. Then Aaron invited a friend of his that he used to kick around with back before Staind and they played a couple of songs I don't think I've ever heard before. Still, good stuff.
After a little back and forth with the crowd, he purses his lips and begins to whistle the opening to Patience by G-n-R. Cracked me up.
Only one encore but can't complain.
I enjoyed the venue because it created a very intimate atmosphere---it felt like he was sitting in my living room.
The man has an amazing range and something about his voice crawls under my skin and curls up in my tummy.
It was a nice, semi-mellow way to spend my time on Friday and I'd do it again in a heartbeat.
People watching was interesting, as well. There was a girl sitting in front of me who just couldn't shush, couldn't sit still. She was very obviously a high-maintenance girlie, hairsprayed and shellacked within an inch of her life. She was wearing those low-rise jeans but had no butt to help hold them up and every time she'd bounce around in her seat, they literally were falling down. So picture someone hitching up their drawers, flinging their hands around while trying to make a point, chattering like some deranged magpie on crack with a drink in her hand that she's sloshing on her companion...
it was humorous.
All in all, I had a great time. Traffic cooperated, parking was awesomely adjacent and easily found, the show itself rocked and then driving home was seamless too.
Yay.
AND. The boys had a blast with my aunt without killing each other.
YayYay.
The rest of the weekend has paled in comparison, other than the new (old) camera I received.
I'll detail that more tomorrow.
Happy Sunday!
N.

8:18 p.m. - 2007-03-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged